Our network

Four Catholic Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Honor | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Four Catholic Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Honor
Four Catholic Schools Win National Blue Ribbon Honor


The following information was sent to us by Brie Hall: 


Four schools in the Archdiocese of Washington have received the U.S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon Schools Award in recognition of the schools’ academic achievement as America’s most successful schools. The four schools are:


St. Jane de Chantal School (Bethesda)

St. Bartholomew School (Bethesda)

Mary of Nazareth School (Darnestown)

St. Mary School (Rockville)


This is the largest number of archdiocesan schools to receive the coveted award at one time. 

The No Child Left Behind-Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors private and public K-12 schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement.  Blue Ribbon Awards are given annually by the United States Department of Education to 49 private and 255 public schools this year in recognition of outstanding private and public elementary and secondary schools throughout the United States. To be chosen, schools must go through a competitive application process and demonstrate academic superiority or dramatic gains in student achievement. The U.S. Department of Education also notes that a school must demonstrate a strong commitment to educational excellence for all students.


To demonstrate academic superiority, schools must be in the top 10% of schools nationally in both reading and math or in the top 10% on assessments for the highest grade in the school compared to national norms.


The four Catholic schools honored as National Blue Ribbon schools for 2011 can attribute their success to their high academic standards and close-knit community.  The schools have strong test scores and comprehensive curriculum with varied instructional methods. Community service is also an integral part of the schools with students encouraged to get involved.


            This is a great honor for the schools and for the archdiocese and recognizes the excellence of Catholic education. What is so important at these and all the schools in the archdiocese is the involvement by and with the community. It is by working together for the children that these schools are able to be so successful.


The Department of Education will honor the schools with their National Blue Ribbon School awards at a conference and awards ceremony Nov. 14-15 in Washington, D.C. 


The Archdiocese of Washington is home to 98 archdiocesan and independent Catholic schools, educating nearly 30,000 students in Washington, DC and Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George’s and St. Mary’s counties in Maryland.


National Blue Ribbon Schools in the Archdiocese of Washington


Archdiocesan Schools

·        St. Jane de Chantal School (2011 and 1987)

·        St. Bartholomew School (2011)

·        Mary of Nazareth School (2011)

·        St. Mary School (Rockville) (2011)

·        St. John the Baptist School (2010)

·        Holy Redeemer School (Kensington) (2009)

·        Our Lady of Mercy School (2009 and 1998)

·        School of the Little Flower (Bethesda) (2008)

·        Our Lady of Victory School (2007)

·        St. Andrew the Apostle School (2007 and 1989)

·        St. Bernadette School (2003 and 2000)

·        St. Camillus Catholic School (1996)

·        St. Catherine Laboure School (1993)

·        St. Elizabeth School (1985)


Independent Catholic Schools

·        Our Lady of Good Counsel High School (2001 and 1992)

·        Academy of the Holy Cross (1997)

·        Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart (1992 and 1986)

·        DeMatha Catholic High School (1990 and 1983)

·        Connelly School of the Holy Child (1988)

·        Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School (1986)

·        Elizabeth Seton High School (1984)